My memory made the event for me.

March 2, 2007

My earliest memory is of my sister being born when I was two and a half. (Both my sister and I were born at home) The way I remember it: I was taking a nap on the bean bag and dreaming of a caterpillar when the midwife (or my mom’s friend) woke me up and told me that my sister/brother was about to be born. Then my dad tried to show me her head as it was crowning. I have very few other distinct, clear memories from my childhood (even the later years), so I am not sure how I could remember this from when I was two and a half. I may have made it up – or parts of it, but that is the way I remember it. The actual memory of my sister after she was born was not stored, only the birth part.

2 Responses to “My memory made the event for me.”

  1. mrschili said

    Early memories are funny things. I have distinct memories of my mother breaking her leg while falling through a rotted wooden step – I couldn’t have been more than three or four. I also remember her coming home WITHOUT a baby once – and that was before my sister was born when I was four, so I had to have been two or three. Having said that, there are entire chunks of my teenaged years that I’ve blocked from my memory. Weird.

  2. spank said

    whoa. that is some memory

Leave a Reply

