Deal #1

November 25, 2006

I enjoy exercising.  I know I should do it more often.  It is hard to find the time.  A couple years ago I made a bet with the guy I shared an office with on who could loose the most weight in 2 months.  The winner got the window desk.  I had the window desk at the time, but was so confident that I was willing to put it on the line.  I figured either I lost the most and got to keep the desk, or I lost the desk by trying really hard (and even though I lost the desk, I was sure to lose weight also).  So I worked really hard and dieted and exercised 4-5 times a week.  I got to keep the desk.  Basically I rocked.  Well that was a couple years ago and I have not been as good at keeping up with the exercising.  We moved and I now have a longer commute.  We got a dog and now I spend my extra time in the morning with him.  We take a walk, but it is a very slow walk because he has to sniff and pee on everything.   So I figured I needed a new form of competition or motivation to get myself back on the exercising track.  Earlier this week I made a deal with myself.  If I exercise at least 4 times a week for the next 5 weeks I am going to buy myself some new pajama pants.  I LOVE pajama pants, but I have lots of them and don’t really need any.  I figured this would be a good motivator.   I am not through the first week yet and laar night I nearly forgot that I had to exercise.  But I remembered and so far I am on track.  I am also working up a longer term deal that involves building out some blah closets in our house.  I already have the plans drawn up, just have to convince B that it is a good idea and I figured ‘earning’ it would be more fun. 

Leave a Reply

