Uses the vacuum and other great stuff

November 21, 2006

Overheard on the train today:  A woman talking about someone else complaining about her husband not helping to do anything around the house to get ready for the holidays.  The woman on the train’s comment was “What husband does?  What husband does help around the house, especially to get ready for the holidays?  She continued to talk about how she didn’t even think that her husband would even know how to turn the vacuum on, let alone change the bag.”

Well I have an answer to that… my husband does.  My dad does (provided he has specific tasks).  My grandfather did. 

I do also know that there are a lot of men out there who feel like the housework and preparing for company is the wife’s responsibility.  I am lucky enough to have a relationship where we are very equal.  Because of our situation (B works at home and I work away from the house with a 1.5 hour commute each way) B does a lot of the housework – cleaning – laundry – etc.  I am VERY willing and interested in helping fix things or do the yard work or do the home improvement things around the house.  (Plus I do the bugs or other critters).   I am amazed at hearing comments like this and seeing how other relationships work.  I guess this come from how I was raised.  I spent a lot of time working on construction type projects with my father.  He was always willing to teach me things that were traditionally not “girl” things.  I was raised with the mantra “ you can be or do anything you want to, if you put your mind to it”

One Response to “Uses the vacuum and other great stuff”

  1. Tonya said

    Sounds like you have a real great husband. Your background leads me to believe that you seeked out, directly or indirectly, someone who is much like the male role models in your life.

    Does your husband get along with your dad?

Leave a Reply

