The ultimate delurk

November 20, 2006

My friendship with Lakeline got me into the world of blogging and I have been reading blogs for more than a year now.  I rarely commented, and was just content reading about the going ons in others lives.  Like I said in my first post, I have been thinking about starting my own blog for quite awhile, but I had never taken the step to create it.  I think this was mostly because I was afraid.  Afraid I would not know what to write about, afraid people would not care, afraid people would not read it.  Well thanks to the month of blogging I got one started.  It is actually not as hard as I thought, although my goal is to make my posts more thought-out and insightful following the general trend I am trying to take my life these days.  I will admit that without the commitment of the month of blogging I don’t know if I would have stuck with it or have gotten so into it.  Granted after November is over I may not post everyday, but it is definitely something I want to keep doing. 

Totally Different Topic

M is having surgery on her arm tomorrow … drop by and give her some thoughts of quick recovery.

Lakeline’s father broke his back in earlier this week is having surgery tomorrow … drop by and give her some love and support.

2 Responses to “The ultimate delurk”

  1. Mrs. Chili said

    Wow. Sending love and support to your friends in need of it.

    I’ve got some pretty strong feelings about blogging and, even though you didn’t ask me, I’m going to give you one of them:

    Don’t stress about your content. Loyal readers will read about your stubbed toe or your favorite cookie recipe just as happily as they’ll read your profound thoughts. You’re not catering to your audience – write what you need to write.

    As an English teacher, I can tell you that the best writing comes from a place of authenticity. If you’re not feeling profound on Tuesday, don’t stress about writing profundity – toss up something funny you saw happen in the grocery store or tell us about a word you had to look up while reading or whatever. Write, certainly, but never force it.

  2. Leah said

    You could always do holidailies like me. Because I am insane.

    Also, I TOTALLY agree with your first commenter. People read because they like you, not because you write like Faulkner. Good advice, yo.

Leave a Reply

