Home, why would I want to go home?

November 10, 2006

I love going places.  Vacation, visiting friends and family, day trips to neat places.   I never want to go home.  I know a lot of people who, after being away from home are just ready to go home.  I cannot ever remember feeling like that.  Granted, other than one 5 week road trip from Illinois to the West coast was by far the longest trip I have gone on, other than that the max has been around 2 weeks.   But even on that 5 week trip as I was sitting on the beach on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington state, I was dreading that we were going to have to start driving East to head home.  I am not sure why I feel this way.  I really like being home, but it is just not a place that I really miss.  I guess I am just pretty good at feeling comfortable in new places and to make the best of the moment. 

One Response to “Home, why would I want to go home?”

  1. Mrs. Chili said

    I kind of envy you that. I’m a homebody. I love to go out, mind you, and I’m great on vacations, but I’m always just as happy to be going home as I am excited to be leaving it. I love it here. All my stuff is here. I’m safe here. I belong here.

Leave a Reply

