Role Reversal

November 3, 2006

My husband (B) works from home.  I spend 3 hours getting to and from work each day.  Needless to say, B spends quite a bit more daytime hours at home.  Because of this and because of the type of person he is, he does a lot of the housework that a lot of times is left up to the female of the relationship.  He does all of these things so that when I get home from work, I do not need to worry about them.  For instance, he does all the laundry every week, he fixes all the little things around the house, pays all the bills, etc.  It is sometimes hard for me to remember that he does all of this, and especially that he does it all so that I do not have to do it.  I guess I figure that if he didn’t do them, I would just do them.  Thinking this is fine, but logically I am not sure how I would be able to.  I am already overbooked and overly tired every day.   I just need to remember that B spends his extra time taking care of things around the house and that I need to be more appreciative of his efforts.

One Response to “Role Reversal”

  1. Leah said

    Heh, we have similar problems here. It’s frustrating because you can’t ever really know how much someone does. So sometimes I feel like it looks like I sat around doing nothing all day, when really I was super-busy!

Leave a Reply

